Visit the OCDS Washington Province Website

Our Identity

Carmelite Seculars, together with the Friars and Nuns, are sons and daughters of the Order of Our Lady of Mount Carmel and of St. Teresa of Jesus. As a result, they share the same charism with the religious, each according to their particular way of life. It is one family with the same spiritual possessions, the same call to holiness (cf Eph 1.4; 1Pet 1.15) and the same apostolic mission. Secular members contribute to the Order the benefits proper to their own secular state of life. (Constitutions #1)

Our Values

  • Live in allegiance to Jesus Christ
  • Be diligent in meditating on the law of the Lord
  • Give time to spiritual reading, especially the works of the Saints and of the Order
  • Participate in the church’s Liturgy, both the Eucharist and the Liturgy of the Hours
  • Be concerned for the needs and the good of others
  • Arm ourselves with the practice of the virtues, as we live an intense life of faith, hope, and charity
  • Seek interior silence and solitude in our life of prayer
  • Strive to deepen our prayer life which leads to service in God’s Kingdom on Earth
  • Use prudent discretion in all that we do
  • Participate in frequent and meaningful reception of the Sacrament of Reconciliation

Our Commitments and Obligations

  • Daily Mass if possible
  • Daily recitation of Morning and Evening Prayer from the Liturgy of the Hours
  • Recitation of Night Prayer each night, if possible
  • Spend one half-hour daily in the practice of mental prayer to strengthen our relationship with God, so that we can become true witnesses to His presence in the world
  • Wear the little brown cloth scapular. The scapular medal, properly blessed, may be substituted for the cloth scapular
  • Attend monthly community meeting to receive the initial Teresian Carmelite formation leading to Profession and to ongoing formation for life
  • Feel a special calling to exercise Fraternal Charity and the Apostolate
  • Besides the days of fasting prescribed by the church, we fast on the Vigils, the day preceding the following feasts:
    • Our Lady of Mount Carmel (July 16th)
    • Our Holy Mother, St. Teresa of Jesus (Oct 15th)
    • Our Holy Father, St. John of the Cross (Dec 14th)
    • The Holy Prophet Elijah (July 20th)
    • All the Saints of the Order (Nov 14th).

Particular Acts of Devotion

Following the lead of Our Mother, St. Teresa of Jesus, members cultivate a love for the Word of God and devotion to Jesus reserved in the Blessed Sacrament. By choosing the Blessed Virgin Mary as the Mother and Patroness of our Order, we place our whole spiritual life under Her protection and strive to imitate Her interior life and union with God’s will as the example and ideal of our consecration.

We recognize the value of praying the Rosary, the Angelus, and other such devotions as commended by the Church (cf. Pope Paul VI, Apostolic Exhortation Marialis Cultus, Feb 2, 1974)

Admission Requirements

  • Constant in professing the Catholic Faith, and in good conscience sacramentally active in the Catholic Faith
  • Not members of any Religious Order or Congregation or any other Secular (Third) Order, either as a professed member or a novice
  • 18 or older


During the monthly community meeting, Aspirants receive instructions about the vocation for twelve months. After prayerful discernment, the individual may then be clothed with the habit of the Secular Order and be admitted as a Candidate in Formation in the Order. After this, initial Teresian Carmelite formation begins.


  1. The Initial Formation Stage Step 1 lasts two years, at which time the Temporary Profession of Promises may be made.
  2. The Initial Formation Stage Step II lasts three years, after which the Definitive Profession of Promise may be made.
  3. Ongoing Formation lasts the rest of our lives and is received mainly at the monthly meeting. Vows may be made five years after the Definitive Profession of Promise.

Secular Order Communities

Are you interested in joining other Catholics in growing in their faith? Click on the location closest to you to find out more about upcoming events.

Mid-Atlantic Region

  • Delaware
  • Maryland
  • North Carolina
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • Virginia
  • Washington, DC
  • West Virginia

Northeast Region

  • Connecticut
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Rhode Island
  • Vermont

Mid-West Region

  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kentucky
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Ohio
  • Wisconsin

Florida Region

  • Florida
  • U.S. Virgin Islands